top of page

The Prize

"To honour excellent international achievements in Political Science"

The Johan Skytte Prize is awarded annually to scholars who have made outstanding acontributions to the understanding of political science and its relevance in the world today. The Prize consists of a monetary award of 500.000 Swedish crowns and a medal and is  formally conferred onto two Prize laureates every other year at a traditional ceremony which is held in Uppsala. The prize committee, comprising an international group of scholars, selects the laureates based on nominations received from the academic community.

Banquet at Uppsala Castle 2022


The festive prize award ceremony takes place at Uppsala University where Johan Skytte served as a chancellor. The ceremony by custom takes place on the last weekend before October 1, the date when Johan Skytte donated land and property to Uppsala University in order to establish a professor chair in political science and eloquence in 1622.


The festivities that traditionally combine academic and social events start on Friday with a lecture held at the Department of Government. In the evening, the Skytte Foundation hosts a dinner for the laureate, the Prize Committee and senior members of the Department of Government.


Saturday is the main celebration day, starting in the afternoon with a wreath-laying ceremony at the tomb of Johan Skytte in Uppsala Cathedral accompanied by music composed specially for this occasion by the famous musician and director of Uppsala University orchestra, Ulf Johansson Werre. Thereafter, the laureate delivers the Prize award lecture (Johan Skytte lecture). This event is open to the public and traditionally held at the University Main Building. The lecture is followed by the Skytte banquet, a formal dinner at Uppsala Castle. At the banquet, the laureate is formally presented with a medal.


The festivities come to an end on Sunday with an excursion organised by the Skytte Foundation and led by the patron of the Foundation, Count Jonas Mörner. The excursion pays homage to Johan Skytte and the highlight of it is a visit to the beautiful Grönsöö Castle by the lake Mälaren built by Johan Skytte himself. Today, the Von Ehrenheim family lives in the castle.

Representatives of the media are welcome to attend every event of the official programme provided that they register their interest with our Master of Ceremonies, Michal Grahn at  M
ichal will also assist the media to schedule an interview with the prize winner if requested.

Prize ceremony at Aula Magna 2022

Prize Committee

Li Bennich-Björkman.

Li Bennich-Björkman

Johan Skytte Professor in Political Science and Eloquence, Uppsala University, chair

Jan Teorell

Jan Teorell

Professor of Political Science, Lund University

Vello Pettai

Vello Pettai

Professor of Comparative Politics,

Johan Skytte Institute, Tartu University

Lise Rakner

Lise Rakner

Professor, University of Bergen

Maurizio Ferrera

Maurizio Ferrera

Professor, Università degli studi di Milano

Kimberly Hutchings

Kimberly Hutchings

Professor of Politics and International Relations,

Queen Mary University of London

bottom of page