Our Blog

2019-06-25 by Michal Smrek, photo collage by The New School

We are delighted to announce that the book Fulfilling Social and Economic Rights (OUP) authored by Sakiko Fukuda-Parr, Terra Lawson-Remer and Susan Randolph, which benefitted from a Skytte Manuscript Workshop, was awarded the 2019 Award for Ideas Improving World Order.
Continue Reading..

2019-04-02 by Li Bennich-Björkman, portrait by Anna Ileby

As per custom, the winner of the Johan Skytte Prize in Political Science is announced on the pages of the Swedish daily Svenska Dagbladet. The prize announcement article is penned by the sitting Johan Skytte Professor in Political Science and chair of the Skytte Prize Committee Li Bennich-Björkman. What follows is an English translation of the article.
Continue Reading..

2019-03-28 by Michal Smrek, photo credit: APSA on Twitter

Professor Margaret Levi at Stanford University and University of Washington has been named the 25th recipient of the Johan Skytte Prize in Political Science. She is awarded the prize for:

having laid the foundations of our understanding of why citizens accept state coercion, by combining theoretical acumen and historical knowledge.

Margaret Levi is Director of the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences (CASBS) and professor of political science at Stanford University. She is also Jere L. Bacharach Professor Emerita in International Studies at University of Washington.

The prize conferred by the Skytte Foundation will be awarded on September 28, 2019.
Continue Reading..

2019-02-25 by Michal Smrek

On March 1, the Department of Government at Uppsala University will hold an inauguration ceremony of the Ostrom Lecture Hall, named in honour of Elinor Ostrom, the fifth laureate of the Johan Skytte Prize in Political Science. To mark the occasion, the patron of the Skytte Foundation, Nils-Axel Mörner, will unveil a painting of Ostrom which the Foundation has financed and which was painted by Johan Patricny.
Continue Reading..

2019-02-22 by Michal Smrek

This year’s Skytte Prize Committee’s annual meeting was hosted by Donatella dela Porta and held at Scuola Normale Superiore in Florence on February 15, 2019. All six Skytte Prize Committee members have gathered to discuss the nominations for this year’s Johan Skytte Prize.
Continue Reading..

2019-02-06 by Michal Smrek

The Skytte Foundation hereby announces a call for applicants for the 2019 Skytte Manuscript Workshop. The Skytte Manuscript Workshop provides the unique opportunity of two days of concentrated intellectual discussion on an entire book manuscript, which is rare in these days of short panel presentations, article-writing, and multi-tasking in academia. The two-day workshop will be held at the Department of Government, Uppsala University in the autumn of 2019. The exact date will be agreed upon with the chosen applicant.
Continue Reading..

2018-11-17 by Michal Smrek

During her visit to Uppsala in September, our colleague Gina Gustavsson had a chance to interview this year’s Skytte Prize laureate Jane Mansbridge. We now welcome you to watch this interview in which Jane shares her views on democracy, political leadership, representation and gives advice to young women who aspire for a career in academia.
The interview can be accessed through our Vimeo channel.

Continue Reading..

2018-10-08 by Michal Smrek

The weekend closest to October 1, the day when the Johan Skytte professor’s chair in political science was established in 1622, is traditionally reserved for the Skytte prize-award ceremony. On September 29, Professor Jane Mansbridge of Harvard University became the 24th laureate of the prize. The prize was awarded by Nils-Axel Mörner, the 10th patron of the Skytte chair in political science.

Continue Reading..

2018-09-11 by Michal Smrek

Jane Mansbridge, Charles F. Adams Professor of Political Leadership and Democratic Values in the Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University, will be awarded the 2018 Johan Skytte Prize in Political Science on September 29, 2018. During her stay, Professor Mansbridge will deliver two lectures to which the members of the public are cordially invited. The abstracts for both lectures can be found at the end of this article.

Continue Reading..

2018-08-10 by Michal Smrek

The Skytte Prize Committee is six-strong again! Jan Teorell, Professor of Political Science at Lund University, has accepted to take over the chair left vacant by Jörgen Hermansson. Jan Teorell received his PhD in Political Science from the Department of Government, Uppsala University, in 1998. Between 2004 and 2006, he oversaw the creation of the Quality of Government Dataset at the Quality of Government Institute in Gothenburg. His remarkably wide-spanning research interests include political-science methodology, history and comparative politics, comparative democratization, corruption, and state-making. He has published widely in high-ranking journals, such as Governance, Political Research Quarterly, Party Politics, European Journal of Political Research, American Political Science Review and many more.
Continue Reading..


Yay! Message sent.
Error! Please validate your fields.

Address: Skytteanum, Valvgatan 4, 753 10 Uppsala, Sweden
Telephone: 0046 700664926. Email: michal@skytteprize.com