Category: News

2018-10-08 by Michal Smrek

The weekend closest to October 1, the day when the Johan Skytte professor’s chair in political science was established in 1622, is traditionally reserved for the Skytte prize-award ceremony. On September 29, Professor Jane Mansbridge of Harvard University became the 24th laureate of the prize. The prize was awarded by Nils-Axel Mörner, the 10th patron of the Skytte chair in political science.

Continue Reading..

2018-09-11 by Michal Smrek

Jane Mansbridge, Charles F. Adams Professor of Political Leadership and Democratic Values in the Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University, will be awarded the 2018 Johan Skytte Prize in Political Science on September 29, 2018. During her stay, Professor Mansbridge will deliver two lectures to which the members of the public are cordially invited. The abstracts for both lectures can be found at the end of this article.

Continue Reading..

2018-08-10 by Michal Smrek

The Skytte Prize Committee is six-strong again! Jan Teorell, Professor of Political Science at Lund University, has accepted to take over the chair left vacant by Jörgen Hermansson. Jan Teorell received his PhD in Political Science from the Department of Government, Uppsala University, in 1998. Between 2004 and 2006, he oversaw the creation of the Quality of Government Dataset at the Quality of Government Institute in Gothenburg. His remarkably wide-spanning research interests include political-science methodology, history and comparative politics, comparative democratization, corruption, and state-making. He has published widely in high-ranking journals, such as Governance, Political Research Quarterly, Party Politics, European Journal of Political Research, American Political Science Review and many more.
Continue Reading..

2018-04-24 by Michal Smrek, photos by Tove Hellkvist

On April 23, Department of Government at Uppsala University hosted a festive unveiling ceremony organised by the Skytte Foundation to commemorate all prominent political scientists who have been awarded the Johan Skytte Prize thus far. Their portraits sketched by a talented young Swedish artist, Anna Ritar, will now be decorating one of the student lounges of the Department of Government and encourage young aspiring political scientists to strive for great achievements within the discipline.
Continue Reading..

2018-04-19 by Johanna Söderström

Just as spring truly came to Amsterdam, the Skytte Foundation hosted the 7th Johan Skytte Manuscript Workshop, this year held at the Netherlands Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities and Social Sciences (NIAS).
Continue Reading..

2018-04-14 by Li Bennich-Björkman

As per custom, the winner of the Johan Skytte Prize in Political Science is announced on the pages of a Swedish daily newspaper, Svenska Dagbladet, penned by the sitting Johan Skytte Professor in Political Science. While the text is usually featured in Swedish, we now offer you an English translation.
Continue Reading..

2018-04-07 by Michal Smrek

The Skytte Foundation together with the Department of Government at Uppsala University would like to welcome you all to the ceremonial unveiling of a wall of fame dedicated to Johan Skytte Prize laureates. The wall will feature a portrait of every laureate since the commencement of the prize in 1995. The unveiling will take place at the Department of Government, Uppsala University on April 23, 2018.
Continue Reading..

2018-04-05 by Michal Smrek

Jane Mansbridge, Charles F. Adams Professor in Political Leadership and Democratic Values at Harvard University, is awarded the 2018 Johan Skytte Prize in Political Science. Professor Mansbridge wins the prize for “having shaped our understanding of democracy in its direct and representative forms, with incisiveness, deep commitment and feminist theoy.” The prize conferred by the Skytte Foundation will be ceremonially awarded on September 29, 2018.
Continue Reading..

2018-02-17 by Michal Smrek

The Skytte Prize Committee met at the Department of Comparative Politics (Bergen University) on February 16, 2018 to discuss the shortlist of nominees for the 2018 Johan Skytte Prize in Political Science and choose their preferred candidate. The selected scholar will be presented to the board of the Skytte Foundation, which confers the Prize, in March. The Prize announcement will be published in early April in Svenska Dagbladet as per custom.
Continue Reading..

2017-10-02 by Michal Smrek

This weekend saw the awarding of the 23rd Johan Skytte Prize in Political Science, a prize that is deemed a Political Science equivalent of the Nobel Prizes. The prize is inspired by the legacy of Johan Skytte, Swedish nobleman and educator, who in 1622 founded what is now the oldest professorship in Political Science. This year’s Prize was awarded to Professor Amartya Sen for his lifelong achievement that “combines insights into human vulnerability with knowledge about the potential of democratic political power to redress and relieve this deprivation.” The prize was awarded in a traditional Prize Award Ceremony held in Uppsala on September 30, 2017. Professor Sen has decided to donate the awarded 500.000 Swedish crowns to the Pratichi Trust in India and Bangladesh that he established to promote education and health care for girls.
Continue Reading..


Yay! Message sent.
Error! Please validate your fields.

Address: Skytteanum, Valvgatan 4, 753 10 Uppsala, Sweden
Telephone: 0046 700664926. Email: